Tirath Singh Rawat Is Uttarakhand’s New CM

Tirth Singh Rawat

Ending the long suspense, the Bhartiya Janta Party today announced that Tirath Singh Rawat would be Uttarakhand’s new Chief Minister.

Uttarakhand’s legislature party met today at the state party headquarter and named Tirath Singh Rawat as the CM. The 56-year-old successor of Trivendra Singh Rawat, who resigned yesterday, is MP from Pauri Garhwal. He had also served as chief of BJP’s Uttarakhand unit from 9 February, 2013 to 31 December, 2015. He will be sworn-in at 4 PM today.

Over 50 BJP MLAs attended the meeting and parliamentarians including Union Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Ajay Bhatt, Mala Rajya Lakshmi and Naresh Bansal were also in attendance.

Mr. Rawat tendered his resignation to Governor Baby Rani Maurya on Tuesday. Assembly Elections are scheduled to be held in Uttarakhand next year. In 2017, BJP had swept the elections by winning 57 seats.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here